When I saw this recipe on epicurious.com, I knew I had to try making it. So this morning, after a week of waiting for my bananas to over-ripen, I was ready to make them. They were worth the wait, because these pancakes are the fluffiest, lightest and most delicious I’ve ever tasted. And then there’s the melting, sweet banana pieces and crunchy macadamia nuts…. These were so good that I ate them standing up, by the stove as I cooked. And ate so many that it’s now almost 4pm and lunch is still the furthest thing on my mind.

Just a couple of caveats – if you’re a fan of pretty, perfectly round and perfectly browned pancakes, this isn’t the pancake for you. The chunky banana and macadamia pieces will not allow the batter to make a perfect circle, nor will they allow the surface of the pancakes to brown evenly. If you sliced the bananas really thin, and chopped the macadamia nuts, you’ll probably make a prettier pancake. (But seriously, do we eat pancakes just because they’re pretty? No? I didn’t think so.)

The other thing about this pancake is that it’s a little trickier to make than the usual pancake. There is sugar in the batter, so it will tend to catch and brown in patches, and the pancakes will be a little more difficult to flip because of that. Just grease your pan really well and be patient because I promise you it will be worth it.

The original recipe calls for orange butter to serve with these pancakes. I didn’t have any oranges, so I served mine with thick, Greek yoghurt and blueberries, and drizzled honey over. The tart yoghurt and blueberries were perfect with the sweet fluffiness of the pancakes. Enjoy.

Banana and Macadamia Pancakes

 

