I was preparing to roast a piece boneless, rolled pork the other day, when I was suddenly inspired to make a stuffing for the roll. A quick glance at some recipes on the internet, and I was ready to, er, roll (sorry, so sorry). The thing about cooking on a whim is that things don’t often turn out as one would expect. I learned that if you want to stuff a roll of anything, it’s best to think ahead and purchase a roll that has been cut for that purpose. My roll of pork, when unrolled, had a rough figure 8 shape, and had 2 or 3 flaps.

     

I spread the stuffing over the meat, generously tucked some into the flaps, and rolled it up. The neat little roll I’d bought was no more, and in its place was a hulking monstrosity that was haemorrhaging stuffing all over the place. I bound it up with twine as quickly as I could, wiped ineffectually at the clearly visible stuffing (by this stage I had an audience: ‘Mummy, what are you do- ing?!’) and threw it in the oven. And hoped for the best. The best being that somehow the heat in the oven will miraculously transform my leaky roll into a neat piece of roast that looked like pictures in the recipes. It didn’t.

But! In spite of its ungainly appearance, this roast tasted amazing. Now I know why people go to the trouble of stuffing roasts. The roast took on the flavours of the sausage and apple stuffing, and was so, so tender. And the stuffing that fell out of the roll melded with the pork juices and I had this lovely brown gravy pooled around the roast. It was hands down one of the best roast meals I’d ever had.

Stuffing on a Whim

The quantities given here will be a little iffy- likely to be more than you’d need. I ended up with a little leftover, but since the stuffing is pretty much cooked, I served the leftovers on the side.

Ingredients:

300 g sausage mince (if you can’t get sausage mince, just squeeze some sausages out of their casings)

1 Granny Smith apple, peeled, cored and chopped

1 small onions, finely chopped

1/2 cup cranberry jelly/sauce

1/2 tsp mixed herbs

Salt, to taste

Method:

Heat oil in pan and cook onions for 5 minutes

Add sausage mince and herbs,cook until mince is browned through.

Stir cranberry jelly into mince and combine well.

Set aside to cool before rolling/stuffing roast.

