When my Mum came to stay over Christmas last year, she cooked a few meals for us. Each time we get together, she would always cook pig trotters for her favourite (and only) son-in-law. BBQ Man LOVES pig trotters but sadly enough for him, we weren’t able to find trotters in Toowoomba. So Mum cooked pork belly instead. She slowly braised it with salted soy beans and a tonne of garlic, and I was amazed (actually almost delirious) over the results. Not only was it tender, but it was so silky smooth as well. Swoon! I picked up some pork belly at the supermarket over the weekend, to cook in my masterstock. Ah…it was heaven! So if you haven’t made your masterstock yet, perhaps this might tempt you…

Melting down my masterstock, all dark and rich with promise…

This dish is quite the quintessential Chinese dish – it’s called Red Cooked Pork. Once you have your masterstock, it’s unbelievably easy to make. I melted down my richly gelatinous masterstock, replenished it with more soy, rice wine and water. Sliced up garlic, ginger and spring onions, threw them in with sliced pork. I let it simmer for about an hour (we went to the park to work up an appetite), came home to cook rice and stir fry some bok choy. Done! I served the pork with lots of coriander and chilli, which were fantastic counterpoints to the sweet, rich pork. Bok choy was an excellent accompaniment, crunchy with its slightly bitter end notes. There were no leftovers except for what I saved for the Little Miss’ lunchbox…

This was my post on making masterstock; it has a link to a good masterstock recipe – https://josashimi.wordpress.com/2011/02/17/masterstock-tasting-my-chinese-heritage/

