Recently, I was inspired to make my own sausage rolls. My sister-in-law came to stay and made some, and BBQ Man couldn’t get enough of them. So I made some,  (adding a couple of secret ingredients which will be revealed here…) baked them up and served them for lunch one weekend. That’s when IT happened. Through a mouthful of flaky pastry and sausage and a look of intense concentration on his face, BBQ Man mutters, almost to himself,  ‘These are as good as my Grandmother’s.’ I didn’t make too much of it at the time, but when I thought about it later, I realised that in my entire career of cooking for BBQ Man, some 14 years of it, I had never heard him say such a thing!  So this recipe, dear readers, is definitely a keeper.

When I think back to the best sausage roll I’ve ever had (BBQ Man and I still reminisce about it – it was from a bakery tucked away in Flagstaff Hill, Adelaide), what struck me most was that its meaty filling was nice and moist, and the pastry was crisp and flaky. So with this in mind, I set out to create my own sausage roll. I came across, quite by chance, a package of ready rolled puff pastry with ‘Flaky’ on its label. I think it was a Coles brand, for those of you who are fans of flaky pastry. And then, in order to keep the sausage roll filling nice and moist, I added streaky bacon and grated cheese, my secret ingredients. I also made long rolls – all the better to keep the filling moist – you can cut them into shorter lengths after baking, I surmised.

Oh-for those of you who haven’t had the pleasure of eating sausage rolls in Australia-sausage rolls here, I was amazed to find out when I first arrived, do not have sausages in them, per se. They contain sausage mince, rather than sausages in casings. So accordingly I make my rolls sans sausages in casings – I just bought sausage mince, from the meat section at the supermarket. This recipe makes a large quantity of sausage rolls, but they freeze very well. To defrost, microwave for 1 minute per roll, then pop them in a hot oven for about 5 mins to crisp up. They might not last long enough to freeze…BBQ Man puts away 2 at a time…!

To begin, defrost the pastry sheets and cut them in half. Beat an egg to brush on the rolls later. Put all other ingredients in a large bowl.

        

Mix well, then divide into 10 portions. Roll each portion between your hands to create ‘sausages’. I find it easier to do half a portion at a time. Place sausage on the pastry, repeat until all the mince is done. Wash your hands, then roll up the pastry and place them seam side down lined baking trays. (I had my rolls too close together – place them around 2 finger widths apart, otherwise the pastry will not puff nicely on the sides)

       

‘Paint’ on the beaten egg, and bake.

Sausage Rolls

This recipe makes 1o large rolls and can be halved.

Ingredients:

2 x 500g package sausage mince

5 ready rolled puff pastry sheets, flaky if you can get them

200g grated tasty cheese

200g streaky bacon, chopped

1 tsp salt

1 egg, beaten

Method:

Heat oven to 220C or 210C for fan forced

Defrost pastry sheets and cut into halves

Combine mince, cheese, bacon and salt in a large bowl

Divide into 10 equal portions

Roll each portion into sausages and place on pastry sheet

Repeat with the rest of the mince

Wash hands (otherwise you’ll get flecks of sausage mince on the outside of the rolls!)

Roll pastry sheet around the mince and place, seam side down, on baking sheets

Brush on the beaten egg

Bake until golden brown

