BBQ Man is a supremely capable Dad, but I thought I’d help out a little by cooking and freezing some meals for when I’m away in Melbourne. Otherwise I don’t think a single piece of vegetable will be eaten by BBQ Man or Little Miss over the 7 days that I’m away. So I did a cookout on the weekend, and made  beef and vegetable goulash pie, lamb and spinach pasta bake, Tex Mex bake (vegetarian, muahaha!) and soy sauce chicken with rice, (which hopefully BBQ Man will slice up some cucumber to eat with).

To make beef and vegetable goulash pie, fry 500g beef mince and a cup each of chopped pumpkin, carrot and peas with an onion. Add 2 heaped tablespoons of paprika and 1/2 cup water. Season well with salt and pepper. Place in a baking dish and top with either a sheet of puff pastry or mash potato, and bake.

I topped mine with mash potato, and added a touch of whimsy which I’m pretty sure the Little Miss would like.

I sprinkled paprika into a heart-shaped pancake/egg ring…

Voila!

Have a great week ahead and I’ll see you back here on Thursday.

